Pulling Petals Off a Daisy

“He loves me, he loves me not, he wants to have me locked up.”

My brain has leaked out my ears.  There is no other explanation.  I know, I know, “forgetfulness is not uncommon during pregnancy” but seriously?  This is insane.  I forget everything.  The other day for dinner, I tried to fry the potatoes that I was cooking to mash, and put frozen peas on the stove only to leave them there hoping that they would magically cook on their own.  Aaron will ask me if I know where the remote is, the one that I had in my hand about ten minutes ago?  And I end up giving him a look that says he’s lucky that I remember WHAT the remote is, to hell with where.  Everything is escaping me so quickly.

The hearing hallucinations aren’t much better.  I don’t remember getting these at all last time.  In the car the other day, Aaron asked me if I remembered something (again) and when I gave him a blank look he called me placenta brain*.  This would have made sense, but for some reason I heard “Lissa Teh Brain.”  I couldn’t figure out what the hell he was talking about.  Was he calling Lissa smart?  Calling her silly?  Telling me she was much smarter than I am at the moment?  And what the hell did that have to do with our current conversation.  A few seconds later I realized what he actually said, and was relieved that I wasn’t completely losing my mind.  Honestly, if he doesn’t want to divorce me over this pregnancy, then I don’t know what will get rid of him.

I have been rather ill lately, this baby is taking quite a bit out of me.  The main trouble is my lack of energy.  So I have no drive to get anything done around the house, and laundry and dishes tend to pile up.  I can get some of it done when I have help, but I’m getting winded really quickly.  The other issue is that I don’t have the energy to play with Ashton the way I have before.  I think it’s starting to become clear to him that things have changed, because he’s started to act out quite a bit lately.  The worst is at nap time and bed time.  He has taken to literally screaming as soon as his head hits the pillow.  After an hour or so of this, I’m to the point where I want to scream as well.  It’s not going well, but hopefully this phase won’t last long.

Anyone want to take the kid to a park or zoo or something?  Go and wear his ass out.

*Placenta Brain is a phrase that I heard from Dooce**.  I’m not sure if she came up with it originally, but she’s the only person I’ve ever heard use it***.  It has recently become my nick name.

**It’s come to my attention that because of the style and font I use it’s difficult to tell when something is a link.  From now on all links will be in bold print (when I remember).

***Edit: I went and looked it up and apparently it’s everywhere.  Even in the Urban Dictionary.  Just goes to show how much I pay attention.

Published in: on March 2, 2009 at 9:24 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://angelicghaval.wordpress.com/2009/03/02/pulling-petals-off-a-daisy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for the laugh today I needed it! LISSA TEH BRAIN…LOL!


Leave a Reply

