Fun With Hormones

Don’t worry.  This is not going to be a post in which I gush for several paragraphs about my first born.  I’m not going to go into detail about how charming, brilliant, exhausting, evil my two year old is.  You already know all of this.  What I am going to do, for once, is talk about what’s going on with me.

Sadly, by me I mean what’s happening inside of me, which is quite a lot of discomfort and stupidness.  A few notes…

I can’t seem to eat much meat.  Hamburgers don’t pose a problem (at least Wendy’s don’t) but the very thought of eating chicken the last couple of days has sent me running to the bathroom.  I made a simple baked chicken with salt and Italian seasoning sprinkled on top the other night and couldn’t get a single bite down.  I had corn and buttered bread for dinner that night.  I was able to eat my slow cooked chicken and dumplings, but that mostly tastes like butter, so that was good.

I can, however, seem to eat things like palak paneer just fine.  This is a curried spinach and cheese dish, and is heavenly (granted it doesn’t feel that awesome afterward. The heartburn is not nice).  I could happily eat a bowl of that with some flat bread all night.  So why is this spice fine, but seasoning that I’ve used since I learned to cook* is making me sick?

My mood swings are actually getting kind of bad.  Poor Ashton is having to get the worst of it.  I’ll go from wanting to bite his head off, to wanting to hug him and love on him and tell him everything is ok, that mommy is just crazy.  Trying to keep from picking him up (not supposed to lift anything heavy for a while) is not helping the situation.  When he doesn’t want to do something, he just collapses into a heap and sits there.  But I said I wasn’t going to go on about him, so I’ll stop.

The mood swings are getting irritating lately, though.  Earlier today I found myself getting all weepy teary eyed over a Gerber commercial.  I remember getting like this with the last pregnancy, but not until I was well into my second trimester.

When I go to the doctor the scale says I’ve lost weight.  I feel like a cow, I’m already showing a little bit, and I’m only 10 weeks along.  This is irritating.  The most painful thing seems to be the scar from my previous c-section.  It feels like it’s stretching (which it probably is) and it’s not the most enjoyable feeling in the world.  It is, however, one I’m familiar with.  I have a sizable scar on my chest that has been there most of my life and it tends to stretch at times (especially when my breasts swell) so the scar pulling is being felt all over.

I’m still having “issues” so I’ve put my self on  semi-bed rest.  I’m moving around as little as possible, and trying not to do anything strenuous.  So since all I do is sit on the couch and watch Ashton play, this is all I have going on and all I have to talk about at the moment.

*To be fair I only learned to cook a few years ago.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://angelicghaval.wordpress.com/2009/02/12/fun-with-hormones/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

