Someone Please Explain This To Me


This is not going to be a post about our candidates.  This is not me telling you who I plan to vote for (because that should already be painfully obvious).  This is not me telling you who is good and who is evil, because quite frankly neither of them are perfect.  And this is not me telling you how offended I was by a certain remark made by a certain candidate during the last debate.  You know, the one that was punctuated with quotation marks and his eyes rolling into the back of his head.  All of this has been discussed at length on everyone else’s blogs.

This is a question that I very much need answered.  I just can’t wrap my head around it.

I understand how someone can be pro-life.  I really do.  It’s not something I agree with.  I think a woman should choose for herself, but I’m not sure that I could ever have made that decision if I had needed to.  Just because I couldn’t do it, doesn’t mean that it is not the right choice for other women out there.  But I understand the “every life is precious” stance.  Neither side of this argument is an easy position, and I applaud anyone who takes a definitive stance on it, regardless of what that stance is.

This is where we come to what I don’t understand.  Most people who are pro-life seem to have contradicting beliefs.  We should ban all abortions, and then turn around and refuse to teach these girls how to protect themselves from this kind of thing happening.  (This is just what I have witnessed with the people I’ve met and read about.  If this does not apply to you then please forgive me for making such a generalization.  Again, this is based solely on my own experience.) People who don’t want abortions to be legal seem to have the following beliefs…

  • Abstinence education is the only way to go.  I don’t understand this at all.  Studies have shown that this is absolutely not true.  When I was a kid taking sex ed for the first time they explained everything to us.  We were told the basics of how birth control works.  We were shown condoms, and how they were put on.  We were then told all of the horrors of STD’s and why that condom is so important.  We were also told that there was only way that was guaranteed 100% fool-proof to keep any of this from happening to us, and that is abstinence.  They also explained that sex is a very emotional activity, and that most people our age are not prepared to deal with those intense emotions.  I was a virgin until I was almost 18.  I’d say that it was a success.
  • Birth control should not be made easily available. Giving girls access to birth control does not mean that they are going to have sex.  It just doesn’t.  It means that if they decide to have sex, that they are considerably less likely to get pregnant, which is generally a good thing.  It means that they are educated and level headed enough to be prepared to have sex.  I had to be put on birth control for medical reasons unrelated to sex, and thanks to the stupid insurance companies, getting it covered was always a nightmare.

I really don’t understand this view point at all.  We don’t want women to terminate unwanted pregnancies, so it would stand to reason that we don’t want them to get pregnant in the first place.  So why is it that those who are pro-choice are usually the ones who want more thorough sex education and want to make birth control methods easily available?  That seems completely backwards to me!  Abstinence teaching methods will not work if you don’t present a consequence to the actions that you’re trying to prevent.  And even then it’s not too successful.  Please understand that we need to equip our children with the knowledge to protect themselves.  And understand that teaching abstinence will not work unless we get every girl in the U.S. fitted with a chastity belt at the age of 10.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://angelicghaval.wordpress.com/2008/10/18/someone-please-explain-this-to-me/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

