Dear Ms. Palin

I wanted to take this time to express my concerns with you.  While you have many ideas that I do not agree with, I didn’t really have a problem with you.  You seem to have done good things in Alaska, and good for you.  I hear you want to bring some of those practices with you to the White House.  That’s great.  It would be really neat if you could handle some businesses around the country the way you have supposedly handled them up north.  Of course I believe that you have some ideas that your running mate would never let you run with, but that’s just how it works.  I only really have issues with your views on women’s rights and sexual education.  This is where we severely part ways, but even still, you didn’t bother me (too much).   Of course, I had already decided long before you came onto the scene that I would be voting Democratic, and I do hope that my team wins (naturally, you always want your team to win.  As a hokey fan I’m sure you can relate to that concept).  Even with all of the flack you’ve gotten, and the way you’ve presented yourself thus far, I hadn’t felt the need to say anything until now.

Your behavior at the debate was appalling.  I’m sorry, but there is no other way to put it.  Biden, while not perfect by any means, at least remained respectful and professional to both you and the moderator.  He didn’t always answer the questions as precisely as some might like, but he did remain on topic.  And he was always polite enough to refer to you as Governor Palin.  You came in and called him Joe right off the bat. You failed to answer several of the questions, instead insisting on talking about whatever you wanted.  You kept coming back to the subject of energy because that’s what you wanted to talk about, in spite of the fact that the topic had long since been dropped and you had already well spent your allotted time discussing it.

One of the worst issues I had with your performance at the debate was that you spoke to Biden directly instead of the moderator.  I was always under the impression that this was a faux pas.  You made statements such as “I’m going to have to correct you there, Joe,” (paraphrasing) which was just tacky.  You seemed as if you were almost challenging Biden.  While I understand that this is, in theory, the point of a debate, you are not meant to take it so literally.  You meant to seem (I’m guessing here) relaxed and accessible.  Instead you came across as disrespectful and unprofessional.  I would like to think that you would know better than that.

I’m a Texas girl.  I’m not overly prideful about this, but proud enough to be insulted when someone comes to my state, to my city no less, and calls Texas the little sister state of Alaska.  Are you kidding?  This is one of the most prideful states in the U.S.!  It’s the only state allowed to fly it’s flag along side the U.S. flag instead of below it.  To come in and essentially pat us on the head like a child is just ridiculous.

Please, understand that while you think you’re a maverick, you still have to play the game and at least attempt to remain respectful to those around you.

(Sorry to get so political on this page.  I just couldn’t keep it to myself anymore.  Not that anyone really reads this silly thing.)

Published in: on October 4, 2008 at 8:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://angelicghaval.wordpress.com/2008/10/04/dear-ms-palin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

