Hiding On The Internet

So I set up this new blog last night and I’ve started wondering if I did the right thing. Not about setting up the blog itself, that I don’t have issue with. The question is whether I made it too easy to find. It’s fairly obvious to anyone who knows me who’s blog this is.

This is a blog about me. I will not use pseudonyms. I will not mask anything. If I talk about you here, I will name names. That isn’t to say that I’m going to talk trash about everyone here, not at all. If there is someone frustrating me or something I need to get off my chest then I probably won’t say who it is, just describe the situation. If you see yourself talked about here in that way then that’s your problem, not mine.

And this brings me to the point. I wonder if I shouldn’t start a blog that no one knows about. That no one will ever know about. Where I can say exactly what’s on my mind and no one can get mad at me because it’s completely anonymous. I get tired of having to watch what I say on the internet sometimes. I get tired of people starting drama because I voiced an opinion. I have a journal where I can get away with some stuff, but there are still people who read that and it can easily come back to haunt me if I say the wrong thing. It would just be nice to have a place where I didn’t have to edit or censor myself.

It wouldn’t last. I know me. I’d let it slip that it exists, or want to show someone something I wrote about some situation or other, and the next thing I’d know everyone would be getting on to me about the things I said about… whatever.

It’s a bad idea. I’d never go through with it. But it’s still tempting.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://angelicghaval.wordpress.com/2008/08/10/hiding-on-the-internet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

